Courthouse steps become holy ground on National Day of Prayer
By Kathy W. Hathcock

Posted on January 1, 0001 12:00 AM

The front steps of the Logan County Courthouse became holy ground on Thursday, May 6, as people from all walks of life gathered to observe the National Day or Prayer.

Curtis Mabry began the prayerful ceremony by the blowing of the shofar.

The presentation of the Bible and closing prayer were offered by Pastor Lee Fishback.

Logan County High School JROTC Color Guard conducted the presentation of colors under the direction of SGM Stephen D. Malnar.

There were prayers given for the seven centers of power and influence. Those individuals leasing these prayers were Russellville Mayor Gene Zick for government; SGM Melnar for the military; Brian Humble for business; Don Neagle for media; Emily McElfresh for education; V.J. Kamineni for church and Janet Miles for education.

Others participating were Judge Executive Logan Chick, who gave welcoming comments; Rev. Cheryl Duke, D.Min, led the group in prayer; Pastor Gary Cross led the pledge of allegiance and Pastor Fred Ford gave the prayer of repentance.

Under the direction of Danny Townsend “Amazing Grace” was sung by the crowd.

This year marked the 59th observance of National Day of Prayer.

Our nation has a long history of prayer. The first call to prayer was in 1775 when the Continental Congress asked the colonies to pray for wisdom in forming a national.

In 1863, President Abraham Lincoln called for a day of “humiliation, fasting and prayer.”

In 1952 President Harry Truman signed a joint resolution by Congress declaring an annual, national day of prayer.

Then in 1988, President Ronald Reagan signed into law a statute designating the first Thursday in May as the annual observance for the National Day of Prayer.

Since 1789, there have been 135 national calls to prayer, humiliation, fasting and thanksgiving by the president of the United States.

Every president since 1952 has signed a National Day of Prayer proclamation.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2023