Winners named in Festival events

Posted on October 25, 2016 9:57 PM

Winners and those who placed in some Logan County Tobacco & Heritage Festival events have been announced by Karen Logan of the sponsoring Chamber of Commerce and Leann Martin of the Logan County Extension Service.

Queen’s Contest

Logan County High School’s Claire Wilson was named Queen of the 2016 Logan County Tobacco & Heritage Festival this fall.

First runner-up was K.C. Cooper, second runner-up Alexis Moneypenny, third runner-up Presley Harris and Miss Congeniality Shailyn Milan.

Tobacco Show

First-place winners in the 60th Tobacco Show were Sarah Williams, Jim Henderson and Paige Brown, Williams and Henderson each won two divisions.

“This year has been a challenging year for our tobacco producers,” says County Agriculture and Natural Resources Agent Leann Martin. “We have experienced tremendous loss across Logan County and Kentucky as a whole in our tobacco crop due to the unusually wet summer we had.

“That did not stop our producers from representing Logan County’s rich Heritage in our 60th Tobacco Show with great tobacco.”

All who placed in events are as follows:

Open Burley: 1) Sarah Williams, 2) Dru Brown, 3) Hannah Brown, 4) Kaitlyn Brown, 5) Jim Henderson, 6) Killian Brown

Youth Burley: 1) Williamson, 2) Dru Brown, 3) Hannah Brown

Open One-Sucker: Jim Henderson, Hannah Brown, 3) Darby Martin, 4) Kaitynn Brown, 5) Paige Brown, 6) Dru Brown

Youth One-Sucker: 1) Henderson, 2) Hannah Brown, 3) Martin

Open Dark Fired: 1) Paige Brown, 2) Kaitlynn Brown, 3) Dru Brown, 4) Hannah Brown, 5) Killian Brown, 6) Mac Martin

Other participants were Rusty Martin, Jonathan Brown, Adam Williams and Christopher Williams.

According to Leann Martin, the sponsors were Farm Credit of Mid-America, Logan County Farm Bureau, and Security Seed & Chemical.

Karaoke Contest


4-11 Years Winner


1st Place – Earon Hudnall


12-17 Years Winners

1st Place – Jaclyn Batchelor

2nd Place – Karyn Kutzman

3rd Place – Janie Tyler

18+ Years Winners

1st Place – Will Cunningham

2nd Place – Scott Cunningham

3rd Place – Dea Fuller

Duo Winners

Harvest of the Arts

The Russellville Arts Council is pleased to announce the 2016 Harvest of Art Winners:

Senior Division
1st Place Karina Holloman - “Untitled”
2nd Place Amanda Wilson - “Sea Watch"
3rd Place Korbin Holloman - “Broken Hearts”

Junior Division
1st Place Sarah Olivia Hope Brown - “Serenity”
2nd Place Olivia Cudd - “The Deer”
3rd Place Rylee Kei Hobbs - “Mario Rebooted”



Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024