Youth Leadership Logan members from LCHS named
By David Brooks, LCHS Counselor

Posted on November 9, 2019 8:23 PM


Logan County High School would like to announce the following students have been chosen as members of the school’s Youth Leadership Logan representatives.  Wilson Boggess, Xander Carnal, Ali Garrett, Joshua Lawrence, Rhianna Mathews, Kameron Myers, Gracee Spears, Ali Stratton, Aiden Simpson, Katherine Woodward. 

Youth Leadership Logan is a program that is run through the Logan County Chamber of Commerce.  It is similar to the adult Leadership Logan program.  Each year the Chamber selects ten sophomores from Logan County and Russellville High Schools. These students must submit an application and are selected based upon the application as well as their potential leadership abilities. 

Each Month the Chamber has the students participate in a theme. The themes vary from agriculture, tourism, history, small businesses, and entrepreneurship.  This past month the focus was on health and human services.  The program is intended to showcase a part of Logan County that the students may not have known about and to expose them to the potential of the county’s future growth.

As part of the program the students are expected to develop and participate in a charitable activity that gives back to the community.  In the past the students have participated in canned food drives, given time to help remodel the Center for Teens on Third Street and change drives for local charities.  This year the group has chosen as their community activity to assist AGAPE. 

Show in the photo are, front row, from left, Katherine Woodward, Ali Stratton, Ali Garret, Gracee Spears; back row, Aiden Simpson, Kameron Myers, Joshua Lawrence, Xander Carnal


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2022