Allison McDaniel earns SKYCTC surgical tech award
By Mark Brooks

Posted on May 18, 2020 7:45 AM

Each year, Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKYCTC) recognizes students from each of the Allied Health programs of the College who have excelled in academic and clinical excellence as well as leadership.

Russellville High School graduate Allison McDaniel was chosen the outstanding student overall Surgical Technology. She started her SKYCTC as a member of the first cohort of the Panther Academy, a group of select RHS students who were transported to SKYCTC’s Franklin Simpson Center to take dual credit courses.

In addition, one student is selected as the overall Allied Health Student of the Year. This year’s recipient is Dionna Szewczak, a Radiography student from Franklin.

“Dionna is very deserving of the Overall Allied Health Student Award,” says Lori Slaughter, Professor of Radiography at SKYCTC. “She has had a very positive attitude throughout the Radiography Program and was willing to help others when they needed it.  Through various observations in the clinical setting, she demonstrated wonderful rapport with patients and staff.  She will be a true asset wherever she goes.”  

The COVID-19 pandemic has made us more aware and thankful for the work our healthcare professionals undertake every day to ensure our health and recovery from illness’ and disease such as the coronavirus. 

This year, SKYCTC honored all healthcare professionals and presented awards to twelve SKYCTC Allied Health students at the annual Allied Health Award Ceremony held on May 8, 2020 through an online ceremony.

Additionally, the SKYCTC Allied Health students chose three professional mentors from area healthcare facilities to receive awards for their contributions to the program.

Awards recipients in their respective categories were:

Award of Academic Excellence                                                                                                                In recognition of achieving excellence by maintaining the highest program GPA.              

  • Radiography – Rachel Leer - Warren County                
  • Respiratory – Lindsey Krinock - Warren County                          
  • Surgical Technology – Ada Wolfe – Warren County  


Award of Clinical Excellence                                                                                                                

In recognition of achieving and maintaining the highest level of clinical proficiency -            

  • Radiography – Tyler Gaw - Allen County & Christine Amiot – Barren County                          
  • Respiratory – Ty Mutter - Allen County                          
  • Surgical Technology – Ashton Akins - Warren County                              


Award of Excellence in Leadership

In recognition for demonstrating outstanding leadership skills and integrity consistently                 

exhibited toward fellow students -           

  • Radiography – Tori Browning - Edmonson County                     
  • Respiratory – Robyn Lowe - Warren County                 
  • Surgical Technology – Tabitha Boyer - Simpson County                                                                                                           


Award of Overall Program Excellence                                                                                                                In recognition of achieving excellence in academics, clinical proficiency as well as for the integrity consistently exhibited toward fellow students

  • Radiography – Dionna Szewczak - Simpson County                   
  • Respiratory – Samantha Zambrano - Simpson County                              
  • Surgical Technology – Allison McDaniel - Logan County                          


Overall Allied Health Winner

In recognition of overall excellence among all students in the Allied Health programs -

  • Radiography – Dionna Szewczak - Simpson County                   


Professional Mentor Recognition

The students of the SKYCTC Allied Health Programs selected three outstanding mentors at their clinical sites. This year’s professional mentor awards go to:

  • Radiography – Stacey Hurt -  TriStar Greenview Regional Hospital                                              
  • Respiratory – Jennifer Watts – The Medical Center of Bowling Green.     
  • Surgical Technology – Shakara Wynn - The Medical Center of Bowling Green???????

Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College congratulates this year’s Allied Health Award Winners and all the students in the allied health programs.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2020