Groundbreaking set Veterans Day for memorial at RHS
By Jean Reynolds, Russellville Alumni Association

Posted on November 8, 2021 7:29 PM


The Russellville Alumni Association would like to invite everyone to our Veterans Memorial Groundbreaking Ceremony, Thursday, Nov. 11 at 1:30p.m. in Jim Young Gymnasium. We have an extremely nice program planned with special guests, 1942 RHS graduate, Mr. Jimmy Burgher, and 1965 graduate, Major General Jerry Humble.

We will be honoring our three KIA’s, Bobby Ray Mefford, James Henry Province, and Alvin Marion Shifflett, Jr. A wreath laying will be done at the memorial site by the Colonel Benjamin Logan Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution.

All of the brick pavers that were purchased will be on display, along with the beautiful plates to be set in the monument.

We deeply apologize for the memorial not being completed, but hoping they’ll begin any day now. Please join us for a special Veterans Day!

The following veterans have been honored by bricks being purchased in their honor. More bricks can be ordered to be added later.

Air Force: Dan Anderson, Roland C. Beasley, Kenneth W. Bilyeu, Robert Taines, Browning H. Gorrell Jr., Jim Kerr, Charles Duncan McCormick, Dennis Ray Perry and Jimmy Lee Utley

Army: Robert Balance, James H. Burgher Jr., Boyd N. Chapman, J. Byron Chapman, Jermaine Collier, Earl V.  Davis, Richard Davis, Terrance Dunn, James Glenn, L.D. Glenn, David L. Greer, Michael Henning, Harold T. Hinton, James F. Humphrey, Terrell Jackson, Lindy Watson Kemmis, Maurice Linton Jr., Larry Glenn Loftis, John Allen Martin, Stephen Netherland, Lawrence Patrick O’Brien, Thomas C. Owens, Jeannie Posey, Billy Page Province, Joe Lloyd Smotherman, W.B. Taylor Jr., Chris Watson, Christopher Woods and Fred Wright.

Coast Guard: Jerry Posey

Kentucky National Guard: Alvin Ken Smith

Marines: David E. Blackwell, Homer L. Chapman, Joseph Taylor Guion, Jason Humble, Jerry D. Humble, and R.L. Skip Polak

Navy: D. Kyle Ashby, Exie L. Bell, J. David Britt, William Owen Chapman, Cameron Kisselbaugh, Tyrone Long, Jeffrey Allan Maxwell, Jack McFadyen, Jack McLean, John Hicks McLean, Porter McLean, Steven Oberhausen, Charles Edward ‘Bunk’ O’Brien, James A. Parrish, James Brandon Parrish, Michael Polak, Larry Posey, James D. Purvis Jr., Bruce R. Russell-Jayne, Richard L. Smith and Brad Watson


U.S. National Guard: Edward R. Greer

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2022