Rachel Wetton named Logan's director of special ed
By Madison Rose Kirby, Logan County Schools

Posted on June 21, 2023 6:40 PM


Logan County Schools have announced that Rachel Ezell Wetton has been named the new Director of Special Education at Logan County Schools. Wetton has served the district as a special education consultant for five years and as a school psychologist with Logan and Russellville Independent for two years, with 13 additional years of experience as a school psychologist at Barren County Schools.

“I have always had a heart for students with learning differences and special needs,” said Wetton. “It has been a joy working with teachers and students in Logan County over the past few years as a special education consultant, and I am looking forward to the continued growth and advancement of our program going forward. We have an amazing group of special educators, school psychologists, speech therapists, instructional assistants and others working together to help all students reach their full potential.

“I am excited for the opportunity to continue to work with this outstanding group in a new role and to collaborate with others across our district in the support of all learners.”

Rachel Wetton will complete her certificate in the Director of Special Education program from Murray State University in August 2023. Wetton is a graduate of Western Kentucky University with her Education Specialist (Ed. S.) degree in School Psychology and a summa cum laude graduate of WKU with her bachelor’s degree in psychology and anthropology. Wetton is also a proud alumnus of Logan County High School.

“Rachel Wetton brings a wealth of experience and understanding in the special education field,” said Superintendent Paul M. Mullins. “We are proud to introduce her as our new Director of Special Education and look forward to further serving all of our Logan County students.”

Mrs. Wetton has been happily married to Ashe Wetton for 19 years. She and her husband live in Rockfield with their four children who are students at Logan County High School and Auburn School— Colin, Adelaide, Evelyn, and Heath.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024