Filing deadline passes for non-partisan candidates
By Jim Turner

Posted on June 5, 2024 6:56 PM


The filing deadline for several non-partisan races that will appear on local ballots in the November General passed Tuesday. n

Every city council in Logan County has six members, and each of those seats will be up for election this fall.

In Russellville those running are Pat Walpole Bell, Jimmy Davenport, Bill Decker, Richard Ewald, Sandra Kinser, Diane Gilliam Walker, Larry Wilcutt and Ray Wilson.

Five filed to run for the Lewisburg City Council. They are Eddie Ray Alexander, Joseph Dzenis, Laura Freeman, Tina Ruth Nichols and Joyce Richardson.

Seven filed for Auburn City Council. They are Rex Evans, Travis Fuller, Jeff Gregory, Steve Montgomery, Rhonda Pope Sullivan, Peggy Sue Thomas and Claude Tisdale. Auburn Mayor Mike Hughes is unopposed in his race,

Six filed to run for Adairville City council seats. They are Doris Jane Austin, Danny Finch, Shawn McCormick, William Steen, Donnie Warren and Ashana Wynn. Adairville Mayor Donna Blake will face challenger Felicia Ann Hampton.

Three people filed for the four seats on the South Logan Conservation District. They were Daniel Kemp, William Trent Martin and Frank Orndorff Jr.

There are also 4 seats on the North Logan Conservation District; two filed. they were John Walpole Jr. and Charles Miles Jr.

Three Logan County School Board seats are up this year.

Ethan Holloway is unopposed in the Olmstead District.

Barry Silvey is unopposed in the Lewisburg District

Lynette Baker is unopposed in the Chandlers District.

Four people are vying for two seats on the Russellville Independent School Board. They are Valerie Cross, Shawnri Gamble, Phyllis Townsend and Phillip West.

George Offutt alsofiled to run for the empty 2nd District Constable seat. He will be unopposed.

Although their names won’t appear on the printed ballot, candidates can file for write-in votes. The deadline to file as a write-in candidate is Oct. 25.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024