Crittenden Drive to host, deliver Thanksgiving Eve meals again
By Jim Turner

Posted on November 25, 2014 9:02 AM

Once again this year, members of Crittenden Drive Church of Christ will provide meals to hundreds of Logan Countians on Thanksgiving Eve. This annual outpouring of Christian care and love has been going on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving most of this century,

Anyone who would like to come to the church’s multi-purpose room for a sit-down meal is welcome from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m.

A Thanksgiving service will be held in the worship center at 7 p.m. and anyone who would like to attend is welcome.

Crittenden Drive Church of Christ is located just off U.S. 79. Turn south at the BP Station on to Crittenden Drive.

Attendance for Sunday morning services at Crittenden Drive usually averages about 225 people, and many of those members will be involved in preparing and serving the meals. Others go out on the road delivering hundreds of meals to people who either requested them or have been suggested for the outreach by others.

Members of Bethany Church of Christ in the Olmstead area are always active in this effort. Harris Dockins, who is a deacon at Crittenden Drive, is the long-time minister at Bethany.

Anyone who would like to have meals delivered can call the church office at 270-726-6583. Delivery will begin about 1 p.m.

Two sisters, Julie King Davenport and Annelle King White, have coordinated this effort ever since it began. Donnie Porter is the deacon who works with benevolence.

In addition to local outreach programs like this, Crittenden Drive is involved in state, national and international mission work. The congregation’s total contribution of $12,272 a week ago was designated to be divided between two programs, a home for disadvantaged/troubled youth in far western Kentucky and a Bowling Green-based Spanish ministry which Crittenden Drive is helping bring to Logan County.

Kevin White is the deacon who works directly with mission efforts.

Elders of Crittenden Drive Church of Christ are Frank Dockins Jr., Russell Jones, Jim Riley, Charles Roney, Rob Sindorf and Brian White.

Deacons in addition to those already named are Marlin Coe, Tracy Cole, Elmer Jenkins, David Johnson, Mitch Johnson, Joe Meguiar, Darrin Peters, Brian Stratton, David Stuart and Darrel White.

Andy Walker is the pulpit minister and Daniel McCarley the youth minister.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024