WKU joins Kentucky Proud Farm-to-College Program
By Ted Slaon

Posted on March 16, 2015 5:57 PM

Agriculture Commissioner James Comer officially inducted Western Kentucky University as the 10th member of the Kentucky Department of Agriculture's Farm to Campus Program in a ceremony Monday on the WKU campus.

"By joining the Farm to Campus Program, Western Kentucky University has made a commitment to its campus community as well as the community at large," said Commissioner Comer, who earned an agriculture degree from WKU. "You have committed to make fresh, local Kentucky Proud foods available to your students, faculty, and staff. At the same time, you have committed to support local farmers and small businesses. It's entirely fitting that a university located in one of Kentucky's top agricultural counties should be part of this program."

"WKU has a long and rich agricultural heritage, and our primary service region represents the heart of Kentucky's agriculture community," WKU President Gary Ransdell said. "We are proud to be a partner with the Farm to Campus program and all things related to Kentucky's agricultural heritage.  We pledge to continue to be a major force for agriculture research, production, and economic development. Our faculty, staff, students, and alumni are all in for agriculture in Kentucky!"

Warren County produced more than $114 million worth of agricultural products in 2012, ranking ninth in the state, the U.S. Census of Agriculture reported. Warren County is among Kentucky's top counties in production of corn, soybeans, hay, cattle, wheat, hogs, poultry, and milk.

Farm to Campus is the official state program for connecting Kentucky farmers and food producers with Kentucky higher education institutions. Under the Farm to Campus program, the Kentucky Department of Agriculture helps participating institutions locate and purchase fresh Kentucky Proud products to serve in their food service systems and shelf-stable Kentucky Proud products to sell in their campus bookstores.

Western Kentucky University joins Asbury University, Campbellsville University, Eastern Kentucky University, Georgetown College, the University of Louisville, Morehead State University, Murray State University, the University of Pikeville, and Transylvania University in the Farm to Campus Program.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2021