Bevin names members of gubernatorial transition team
By Jessica Ditto

Posted on November 5, 2015 3:09 PM

Thursday, Governor-Elect Matt Bevin, (R-KY) announced Louisville executive Mac Brown will serve as the chairman of his transition team. J. McCauley “Mac” Brown is one of the executives of Brown-Forman Corporation, a FORTUNE 1,000 company.

“I am pleased to announce that Mac Brown is leading our transition team,” said Bevin. “Mac is highly respected for his business acumen and strategic planning experience with one of Kentucky’s most successful companies. It is an honor to have him leading this transition.”

“It is a privilege to serve Governor-Elect Bevin and our Commonwealth in this capacity. Matt is assembling an administration staffed by the best and brightest to usher in a fresh start for Kentucky,” said Brown. “Our priority is to manage the transition in a deliberate, inclusive, and efficient manner. We have been preparing for this historic opportunity for several weeks and will continue to identify the right people for the right positions throughout the transition."

Governor-Elect Bevin also announced the members of the transition steering committee. These individuals have been selected for their experience, expertise, and commitment to the Commonwealth.  

“We have been given a clear charge by the people of the Commonwealth to lead with conservative principles,” said Bevin. “I am committed to building an administration comprised of individuals exemplifying character, competence, & commitment to Kentucky. I am pleased to have such individuals on our initial team. All of us are united in our efforts to make Kentucky better for generations to come.”

The individuals on the Transition Steering Committee will be working to evaluate the policy and personnel needs in these core areas of state government. They will use their experience to advise Governor-Elect Bevin on how to ensure each division can best serve the needs of Kentucky in his administration. No transition steering committee member is a candidate for any position associated with their committee.

Members of Governor-Elect Bevin’s Transition Steering Committee: 

Mac Brown, Chair
Jenean Hampton, Lt. Governor-Elect
Kristen Webb-Hill, Transition Director
Vivek Sarin, Governor’s Office
Rep. Jerry T. Miller, Steering Committee Director
John Hodgson, Budget & Operations Director
John Roach, General Counsel
Rep. Tom Kerr, Economic Development
Billy Harper, Education & Workforce Development
Kathy Walker, Energy & Environment
Bonita Black, Health & Family Services
Mark Sommer, Justice & Public Safety
Garth Kuhnhein, Personnel
Julie Denton, Public Protection & Labor
Brett Gaspard, Tourism, Arts & Heritage
Hal Heiner, Transportation
Maj. General Donald Storm, Department of Military Affairs
John Farris, Kentucky Retirement System
Frank Farris, Finance & Administration
Tom Stephens, Transition Personnel Director
Jessica Ditto, Communications Director


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2021