Students earn honors at local schools
By Jim Turner

Posted on January 1, 0001 12:00 AM

The top two teams in the Logan County Academic League were honored during the county middle school basketball tournament. They were as follows:
Auburn (1st): Madison Anderson, Dustin Bailey, Molly Bell, Ashley Brinkley, Zach Brinkley, Caleb Cassady, Joey Dilliha, Becca Engler, Wesley Estes, Kayla Hazel, Tess Keinzie, Nicky Lashley, Easton May, Josh McKinney, Zach Miller, D.J. Price, Bobby Snoddy, Gavin Scruggs, Andrew White and Ben Wright. Coaches: Krystal Martin and Sarah Hatton
Adairville (2nd): Emily Crutchfield, Tori Mills, Jessica Link, Meagan Ferguson, Grace McLellan, Zach Law, Dylan Byrum, Amber Anderson, Ryan Orndorff, Jacob Burton, Korbin Holloman, Lauren Batten, Amanda Crutchfield, Cole Johnson and Sammy Walton. Coach: Jennifer Orange
The following information came from the websites in the Russellville and Logan County school districts.
Stevenson to host District 22 Governor’s Cup
On Feb. 26, four area elementary schools will gather to take part in the District 22 Governor’s Cup competition, an academic event administered by the Kentucky Association for Academic Competition and sponsored by The Kentucky Education Savings Plan Trust, <> Participating schools are Franklin Lincoln, Morgantown, North Butler and Stevenson.
Governor’s Cup features eight events, including Quick Recall, which is the only one open to the public. Quick Recall begins at 11:30 a.m.
Upon event completion, results will be available at <> .District winners advance to the Governor’s Cup Regional competition to be held at Muhlenberg South Elementary School on March 19.
DECA Conference
Russellville High School DECA students attended the Regional DECA Career Development Conference Feb. 2, at Western Kentucky University. 44 of the 45 students who attended placed in top spots and will be going to the state Career Development Conference March 6-8 in Louisville.. Those who placed are:
1st Place Finishers:
Adam Taylor & Philip Clemons - Prepared Business Presentation
LeeMarcus Bradshaw - Sales and Customer Service
Mallory Priddy & Brandon Jennett - Web Page Advertising
Britney Lyne & Jasmine Riggs - Internet Marketing Plan
Kimberly Baugh & John Corum - Hospitality Services Team Decision Making Presentation
Mallory Priddy, Lindsie Hutchison & Shannon Pate - Hospitality & Tourism Operations Research
Kesi Neblett, Amber Sydnor & Nathanshia Haskins - Entrepreneurship Written Event Team
2nd Place Finishers:
Kathleen Noe & Lindsey Knuckles - Buying & Merchandising Management Team Decision Making Presentation
Lucas Celsor, McLean Shutt & Elyse Brock - Sports & Entertainment Operations Research Team
Justice Turner, Amber Sydnor, & Alexis Spencer - Fashion Merchandising Promotion Plan
3rd Place Finishers:
Travez Hampton, Victor Hampton, & D.J. Quarles - Electronic Advertising - Video
Brittany Hampton, Devonna Sydnor & Kaitlyn Harris - Advertising Campaign Event
Naomi Sells & Ron Todd - Financial Analysis Management
4th Place Finishers:
Antonio Todd, De’Vonta Bryant & Kevin Browder - Electronic Advertising - Video
Philip Clemons - Job Interview
Taylor Kerr - Restaurant & Food Services Management
5th Place Finishers:
Dominique Harris & Kahlil Bell - Electronic Advertising - Radio
7TH Place Finishers:
Victoria Hampton & Senica McGuire - Buying & Merchandising Team Decision Making
Tameeka Rippy & LeAndra Hoosier - Travel & Tourism Marketing Team Decision Making
8th Place Finishers:
Trittany Long & Takoyya Morris - Hospitality Services Team Decision Making

Auburn Governor’s Cup
Auburn School was host to its District Governor Cup competition Jan. 22. The following Auburn Students placed:
Language Arts: 1) Tess Kienzie, 2) Molly Bell
Humanities: 3) Molly Bell, 4) Kayla Hazel
Social Studies: 4) Wesley Estes, 5) Ben Wright
Compostion: 4) Tess Koenzie, 5) Ashley Brinkle

Auburn Beta Club officers are President Kelsey Coleman, Vice President Jesse Clark, Co=2nd Vice Presidents Becca Engler and Chandler Larson, Secretary Victoria Gipson, Treasurer Ashley Brinkley, Reporter Sierra Morrow, Parliamentarian Courtney McGinnis, and Chaplain Adriana Hinojoza.

Olmstead Academics
The top three finishers in the Olmstead School Spelling Bee were 1) Madison Imlay, 2) Brandi Brown and 3) Dana Stucker.
The school lists the following students who placed in District Governor’s Cup competition:
Quick Recall: 2) Josh Canler, Jerred Long, Lydia Manley, Daniel Beaty, Casey Embry, Levi Corssley, Nicholas Sandlin, Paul Addision, Jaclyn Batchelor, Dylan East, Kelly Eicher and Dana Stucker
Social Studies: 2) Dana Stucker
Arts and Humanities: 3) Lydia Manley
Language Arts: 2) Dana Stucker
Science: 4) Casey Embry
Arts and Humanities: 3) Lydia Manley, 4)J osh Canler
Math: 5) Matt Harper

Logan County High School
London Kutzman has been named FCCLA Calendar Girl Pageant Queen with Taylor Monroe, Amelia Wilson and Polly Cowan the top runners-up. Meryl Wetton was named Miss Congeniality. Other calendar girls are Addie Baldwin Kelsie Blick, Victoria Cates, Rebecca Dezarn, Mackenzie Hightower, Kierstyn Stanley, Caitlyn Toon and Anna Wilkins.
LCHS senior Brooke Stuart has been named Kentucky DECA Member of the Year. Avrey Collier was elected DECA vice president and Dakota Bray parliamentarian.
LCHS hosted the District Governor’s Cup competition and received the Katherine M. Hume Sportsmanship Award. Those qualifying for State Governor’s Cup Competition:
Social Studies: 1) Jackson Pryor, 2) Social Studies
Composition: 1) Austin Smock
Language Arts: 2) Jennifer Gibss, 4) A.J. Stewart
Science: 2) Josh Roberts
Mathematics: 3) A.J. Stewart, 5) Josh Roberts

Tori Lynch has been named this year’s representative from LCHS to the Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Program, which has been in existence since 1958.
LCHS students who were part of the Russellville Independent Percussion Ensemble (RIPE) drumline/color guard ensemble have been Rachel Collins, Caleb Dawson, Caitlyn Mason, Anne Partlow, Cody Shoemake, Litha Shoulders and Tyler Whittington. RIPE finished second at the SCGC Greenwood High School contest on Jan. 22.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2019