Rose, Naylor, Ison lead RHS Class of 2017
By Penni Nugent

Posted on May 23, 2017 11:23 PM

On Saturday evening, May 21, the 94th Annual Commencement was held in the Jim Young Gymnasium for the Class of 2017, at Russellville Junior/Senior High School.

Under the direction of Brian E. Brown, the Russellville J/S High School Band played the traditional “Pomp and Circumstance” for the processional of Superintendent Leon Smith; Board Members James C. Milam, Mr. Phillip West, Davonna Page, Lovis Patterson, and Joe Sparks; Principal Kim McDaniel; Assistant Principal Brandon Blake; Guidance Counselor Rex Booth; Teacher. Tracy Naylor; Assistant Principal Jennifer Myers; Senior Sponsor and Librarian Lauren Fynboe; and the daughter of Coach Matt Tipton, Ms. Medina Tipton, followed by the graduates. 

After the Presentation of Colors by the JROTC Panther Platoon Color Guard, the Band performed the National Anthem and Principal McDaniel, shared her welcoming remarks.

Mrs. Naylor, who was selected by the Senior Class of 2017 to wear the Commit2Graduate, “We-got-your-back” white robe, shared her personal “list of lasts” memories with these seniors along with a very tender poem by Karen Kingsbury.  

The Commencement continued with the guest speaker, Retiring Superintendent Smith, sharing encouraging thoughts with these students and challenging them to work hard, to make sacrifices, and to exercise the two attributes of attitude and effort to be their best as they begin this next journey’s path. He said, “Life without hope is futile.. He stated his faith in God has carried him through and quoted Jer. 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope”. 

Ambassadors were presented by Assistant Principal Blake, along with numerous student recognitions: the presentation of the deGraffenried Award by Councilman Jimmy Davenport to Micah Naylor, the presentation of the second annual Matt Tipton Award by his daughter Medina to Tara Gilbert, and the presentation of diplomas. 

The top three students were third Bryan Ison, Salutatorian Micah Naylor, and Valedictorian Madison Rose, who presented the valedictory speech. Board Chairman Milam shared a few remarks with the Confirmation of Graduates. Principal McDaniel presented diplomas to the graduates, including her daughter Allison McDaniel. Milam presented his grandson, Milam Watkins, and Board Member West presented his grandson, Dru West, their diplomas. 

The following received their diplomas: Montana Marie Armstrong, Breanna Michelle Barnes, Mateah Shantwon Black, Jordan Turner Blick, Latavia Tashay Boyd, DeAndre Cortez ‘Pedro’ Bradshaw, Loreal Cheaney, Blake Lee Clark, Charles Michael Clayton, Jamaris Malik Clayton, Chelsea Ann Clinard, Cierra Collins, Olivia Cudd, Samuel Cundiff, Titiana Tmira Day, Johnny E. Drumgole, Casey Lee Edwards, Haley Geralyn Elliott;

Elizabeth Daniele Fisher, Tara Gilbert, Tiffany Michele Gray, James Shelton Greene, Tony Keith Hampton, Dakota Lee Hardin, Caleb Jeremiah Hardison, Addison Dawn Hendley, Jordan Keith Hines, Delcie Houchens, Brennan Hughes, Evan Thomas Humphrey, Jordon Keith Hyams, Bryan Thomas Ison, Carl Manual Jones, Paul Howard Jones, Ladarius Quashon Kees, Madison Leann Keezel, Jackson Kinser, Kody Ray Kirby, Destiny Shanell Leblanc, Lauren Madison Marcum, Deshawn Anthony Mason;

Christopher Michael Matthews, Allison Lynn McDaniel, Anddreka Leigh McGuire, Jaylyn McMurray, Macy Lee Meacham, Hunter Moneypenny, Monserrat Morales Solis, Micah Daniel Naylor, Shayla Jordan Oberhausen, Tony Pacheco-Ramirez, Alexis Jenice Perez, Nicholas Ryan Powell, Madison Layne Rose, John Parker Ross, Tristan Shimp;

Kaylee Elizabeth Silvey, Daysha Michelle Sitzman, Caitlyn Joanne Smith, Isa Soto Gomez, Britney Lee Starks, Robert Spencer Statton, Megan Nichole Stevenson, Denise Shantel Stovall, Ma’Leigha Chere Nicole Stovall, Alescia Marie Swinson, Dilishia Thomas, Robert Bryson Thomas, Ashlyn Taylor Underwood, Jaime Vargas, James Edwin Waller, Cassidy Leigh Warren, Milam Larance Watkins, Jalonda Wells, Phillip Dru West, Kallie Brooke White, Mark Anthony Wynn, and Ashley Grace Young. 

Ma’Leigha Stovall, Kaylee Silvey, Shayla Oberhausen, and Brennan Hughes led the singing of the RJSHS Alma Mater, and the Graduates experienced the traditional tassel moving and Cap Toss.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024