18 local students earn possible $10,000 KEES grant
By Tim Ballard

Posted on August 18, 2017 3:13 PM

Eighteen students from Logan County have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Local scholars are:

·         Logan County High School: Jaclyn Batchelor, Ann-Meguiar Bouldin, Paige Brown, Callie Butler, Amber Carroll, Caleb Cline, LeeAnn Coots, Amanda Crutchfield, Matthew Edgar, Kaitlyn Foster, Mary Higgins, Evelyn Jaggers, Isiaha Price, Sheridan Rosser, Alexis Watkins.

·         Russellville High School: Samuel Cundiff, Brennan Hughes, Madison Rose.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit www.kheaa.com; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, KY 40602; or call 800-928-8926, ext. 6-7214.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2019