Meleea Reno, John Hendricks win Farm Bureau youth contests
By Hannah Price, FFA Reporter

Posted on September 26, 2017 11:10 PM

Logan County Farm Bureau held its annual Business Meeting on Sept. 9. Over 250 members attended the annual meeting, which consisted of a meal served by the Logan County FFA.

A Youth Leadership Contest was held that included a two-minute speech and interview process. These contestants were in the running for a $500 scholarship from the Logan County Farm Bureau. The contestants were Meleea Reno, Jessalyn Robey, Rachel Taylor, and Jenna Robertson for the girls. The boys consisted of Evan Hughes, John Hendricks, Zach Milam, and Ethan Robey.

The winners for this competition were Meleea Reno and John Hendricks. They will be moving on to District competition Nov. 4 for the opportunity to go to Washington, D.C., along with $2,000 dollars in scholarship money.  

During the meeting, members of Farm Bureau that exhibited excellent leadership qualities and involvement in both Farm Bureau and Agriculture received awards. These awards were presented by the Farm Bureau President Jay Campbell.  The recipients of the awards were Russell Poore and Carrell Hughes for Distinguished Service to Farm Bureau. And retired LCHS Agriculture Teacher Doug Milliken received the distinguished service to Agriculture award for his service to Agriculture education. Frances Brown was recognized as a Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award recipient as well.

Everybody enjoyed the meeting with JD County milk and door prizes to conclude the meeting. Pay your membership and mark your calendar for Sept 15, 2018 for next year’s Logan County Farm Bureau Annual meeting at the UK Agriculture Extension Office.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2022