Woodall hits grand slam in lopsided Cougar win
By Jim Turner

Posted on April 17, 2014 9:32 PM

After scoring three runs in the top of the first inning Wednesday at Elkton, the Logan County Cougars got a slight scare when Todd Central scored twice in the bottom of the inning. That proved to be all the runs the Rebels would get for the game off Caleb Bruner, but the Cougars added 14 more on the way to a 16-2 district rout.

Senior Ian Woodall had four hits, including a grand slam home run for Logan. He singled in three of the first four innings and then hit the slam in a 10-run fifth inning put together by Coach Ethan Meguiar’s team, which ran its district record to 2-1.

Bruner also homered. The only other Cougar with multiple hits was Michael Riley, who had three, including a two-run double in the first inning. Woodall had four RBIs while Riley and Bruner drove in three each.

Jacob Wood doubled, drove in two runs, walked three times, was hit by a pitch, and scored four runs. Joe Holliday added two hits, one of them a triple, walked and scored twice. Hunter Britt and Luke Woodall each had a hit. Luke Woodall was hit by a pitch, Matt Harper walked twice and scored on each, and Bruner and Britt walked.

Bruner gave up the two first-inning runs, only one of which was earned, on three hits and no walks. He struck out 11 Rebels. Only 18 of his 70 pitches weren’t strikes and he threw first-pitch strikes to 12 of the 18 batters he faced.

Mark Brooks took the loss on the mound for Coach Matt Baker’s team.  He gave up the 16 runs on 12 hits, 9 walks and a pair of strikeouts. Three Todd errors led to 10 unearned runs.

Noah Bicksler and James Bishop got the Todd hits and scored the runs. Jared England was credited with an RBI.

The Rebels had been playing better of late. They lost 4-3 to Houston County, 3-1 to Fort Campbell, 11-10 to Monroe County and 6-5 to McLean County before getting their first win of the season Saturday against Dawson Springs 13-3.

The Cougars improved their record to 11-5.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024