Logan board hears Good News from schools

Posted on January 1, 0001 12:00 AM

The Logan County Board of Education heard reports from the six schools in the system at Tuesday’s February meeting. The “Good News Report” follows.



·         Chandlers School Cafeteria has received a $2,700 grant through the National Football League’s Fuel Up to Play 60 program, which promotes good eating habits and a healthy lifestyle. The grant money will be used to purchase a new milk cooler for the cafeteria as well as help with the expenses in promoting the value of milk to our daily diets and to incorporate as least 60 minutes of physical activity.


  • Adairville School eighth grade Explore scores were in the top 13 percent statewide.
  • The Family Resource Youth Service Center is sponsoring a Biggest Loser Competition among staff members. Drinking more water, exercising and healthy eating are three of the many healthy habits being modeled by staff members. Three afternoons a week, staff members participate in exercise classes. Since beginning the program three weeks ago, 20 staff members have collectively lost 90.4 lbs.
  • The Academic Team placed first in the county, first in the district overall, and first in Quick Recall and Future Problem Solving. At Regional competition, students placed first in Future problem solving, fifth in Math, and third in writing. The following students will be participated in state competition on March 16-17: Ann-Meguiar Bouldin, Olivia Bouldin, Keyleigh Harlen, Amanda Crutchfield, Matthew Edgar, and Samuel Noe.
  • The Lady Cardinals were the runners up in the Logan County Middle School basketball tournament.
  • The Schools to Watch site visit was conducted on February 5-6. Visitors were complimentary of the school and community. By the end of the month, the School to Watch team will notify schools of results of the visit.
  • Joe Gloyd, a second grade student. placed in three of the four Archery Tournaments he participated in this year.
  • Jewell Dowlen, Lauren Batten, Carleisha Robey, Brittany Garrett, Gracie Claborn, Elijah Hopkins, Alton Hallman, Candace Smith, Dustin Brown, Olivia Harrison, Gabriel Fernandez, Corbin Rayno, Bella Gaddis, Abigail Lopez, Ann Elyse Boortz, and Carly Duncan were named students of the month in the area of orderliness as part of CharacterWorks.
  • Katie Ray Holloman was the first sixth grade student in Logan County School District to compete at the regional level in swimming! She participated in one individual and three relay events.


  • Alyssa Pomorin was named a WBKO Hometown Hero for shaving all of her hair to donate to “Locks for Love’ for cancer patients.
  • Auburn had over 300 dads and their children in attendance to the first Watch DOGS meeting on Jan. 28.
  • The Auburn Cheerleaders won first place in both the Logan County Competition and the medium division competition.
  • The Auburn Academic Team won 2nd place in quick recall at the District Governor’s Cup competition held at Franklin Middle School on Jan/ 19 and will be moving to regional competition.
  • The following students placed in written competition and will move to regional competition;
    • Louis Scott - 4th place in Arts & Humanities
    • Daniel Franklin – 4th place in Science
    • Caleb Cline – 5th place in Math
    • Evan Hughes – 3rd place in Language Arts
    • Kate Mallott – 5th place in Composition


  • Eighth grade EXPLORE results are 13th in the state for percentage of students at benchmark in Science.
  • Writers Club members Shyanne Rutledge and Caylee Rolett will have poems published by Poetic Power in an upcoming publication.
  • Governor’s Cup District Results:
    •  In math, Daniel Walker – 3rd Place and Amber Carroll – 1st Place.
    •  In science, Isiaha Price – 5th Place and Seth Bagby – 3rd Place.
    •  In Composition, Amber Carroll – 5th Place,
    •  In social studies, Seth Bagby – 4th Place and Nate Woodall – 2nd Place.
    •  In Language Arts, Ainsley Brown – 1st Place.
    •  In Arts and Humanities, Ainsley Brown – 1st Place.
    •  In Quick Recall, Chandlers – 2nd Place and the team overall finished in 2nd place.
  • In regional Governor’s Cup, the quick recall team placed 5th and Ainsley Brown placed fourth in Language Arts and will move on to state competition in March.
  • RHS Panther Archery Tournament: Elementary and Middle Teams 2nd place and Sarah Montgomery (6th grader) placed 2nd in age group.
  • Seth Bagby attended the All-District Band.
  • Muhlenberg Archery Tournament: Middle School 2nd Place, Dakota Poole, 2nd place in age bracket.


  • The Lewisburg Cheerleaders won 1st place at the Cupid Cheerleading Competition at Warren East High School on Saturday, Feb. 2.
  • The Lewisburg Academic team performed well at the Regional Governor’s Cup Competition on Saturday, February 2, 2013. Sheridan Rosser came in 4th in Written Composition and the Future Problem Solving Team came in 4th place as well.
  • The Lewisburg Archery Rangers competed in the 1st Annual Muhlenberg County Archery tournament this past weekend. The Lewisburg Elementary Team took 1st place.
    • The following archers placed in their divisions:
      • 3rd Grade Female (10 Meter Only)

3rd place--Ruthie Morris

                        2nd & 3rd Grade Male (10 Meter Only)

6th place--Daylan Lawrence

3rd place--Brennon Long

·         5th Grade Female

5th place--Cheyenne Anderson

4th place--Mary Mayhugh

3rd place--Mackenzie Yakuboff

·         5th Grade Male

3rd place--Tristan Blake

1st place--Thomas Bilyeu

o   Thomas also won overall Elementary Archer

·         6th Grade Female

5th place--Kaylen Wood

4th place--Kaylee Yakuboff

      • Middle School Female

3rd place--Kaitlyn Foster


  • The following students were selected to participate in the WKU Honor Band Festival: Tyson White, Caleb Williams, Zach Skotak, Britny Cropper, Hannah Crawford, Molly Bell, and Thomas Stratton.
  • The following students were selected to participate in the Austin Peay State University Honor Band Festival: Britny Cropper, Tyson White, Kayla Pfistner, Molly Bell, Hannah Crawford, Zach Skotak, Nolan Kutzman, Caleb Williams, and Thomas Stratton.
  • Congratulations to Logan County High School teacher Robert. Malcomson for receiving the Logan County Chamber of Commerce's Teacher of the Year award! He will be presented with his award at the annual dinner on Feb. 28.
  • The following nine Logan County High School juniors were suggested to the state for consideration for 2013 GSP: Trevor Brown, Alexis Croft, Will Hughes, Katelyn Jernigan, Logan Johnson, Robbie McLellan, Courtney McReynolds, Emily Stamps, and Adam Wilkins. They will know if they have been selected to attend in mid to late April.
  •  Congratulations to 12th grader Torin Graham and 10th grader Trent Deberry! They were the Attendance For Academic Successmonthly contest winners! Each student received a Great Escape Movie gift card and an Academic Success medallion.


Many sentiments of gratitude were expressed to Dr. Janet Hurt for her service to Logan County Schools as she has been chosen as the Associative Executive Director for the Race to the Top – District (RTT-D) grant with the Green River Regional Educational Cooperative (GRREC) and the Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative (OVEC).


Copyright © The Logan Journal