Russellville, Lewisburg students make news
By Jim Turner

Posted on February 1, 2014 12:16 AM

Periodically throughout the school year, Alicia Carmichael of the Russellville City Schools produces a newsletter called ‘Aware.’ Some of the highlights from the last two issues follow:

RHS Ambassadors for this year were invited to present a program called “Creating Next-Generation Leaders Through Student Ambassadors” at the 78th Annual Kentucky School Boards Conference today, Jan. 31, following a proposal submitted by Assistant Principal and Ambassadors founder Brandon Blake. This year’s Ambassadors are Kevin Vera, Sok Vanna, Jayden Hammer, Gram Humphrey, Aracely Gomez, Hunter McDowell, Ashlee Gilbert, Dillon Porter, Luci Suiter, Riley Lawson, Esmerelda Vargas & Christian Naylor.

Donna Gholson, who is the retired community education director and public relations coordinator for the city schools, has been inducted into the Kentucky Association for Academic Competition Hall of Fame. She was nominated by current RHS academic coach Nick Skaggs and by RHS alum Amar Patel, who is now at academic coach at South Warren.

Five students were honored by Stevenson Elementary Principal Debbie Brown in front of the board of education for their success in MAP testing. They were Emma Gwynette, Chaun Cheaney, Denver Daniels, Luke Skipworth & Jennifer Wilkerson.

Five Russellville teachers were congratulated for their work with RTI (Response to Intervention) in helping children improve academically. Those teachers are Michelle Hindman, Tiffany Morgan, Cyndi Sanders, Tracie Shifflett & Kristen VonLehman.

RHS Beta Club students won big honors at the state Beta Club Convention in Louisville. Sydney Herndon won the John W. Harris Award for outstanding leadership. Only 25 Beta members around the nation receive that award. With that she receives paid tuition to the Broyhill Leadership Conference this summer. Herndon also won the state in on-site colored pencil drawing. She will advance to nationals in Richmond, Va., along with Emilie Gill, who won the state in the same category without color, and Ethan Mullen,  who placed second on the science test. Also at state, taking thirds were Kyle Prince, Breanna Thomas and the Living Literature team of Jason Fox, Jeffrey Fox, Kelsey Harris, Sarah Brown, Brittney Lyne, Hunter Moneypenney, Daniel White, Herndon and Gill. Tanya Mullen is the Beta advisor.

Earning trips to the state Student Technology Leadership Program Fall Showcase by their performances at region were Russellville Middle School students Brandy West, Dakota Hamilton, Laura Mullen, Marta Hughes, Kaleigh Hughes, Katie Lacy, Olivia Bollenbecker, Austynn Holdren, Elly Myers, Ashley Pitts & Hunter McDowell. Kaylee Crowder & Lisa Rose are the STLP sponsors.

Brianna Powell is the faculty member now working with Gifted & Talented students in the Russellville schools. She is a former fifth grade teacher and Stevenson Elementary.

A feature story paid tribute to long-time maintenance workers Barry Pitts & Allen Freeman. Among those complimenting them were current Maintenance and Transportation Director John Myers and his predecessor, Robert Coker.

Among students pictured in the two issues were Aubrey Cross, Kynden Hampton, James Shelton Greene, Raven Boggs, Edgar Jimenez, Brendan Bird, Takyon Darden, Gage Stewart, Latavia Dukes, Riley Wilson, Barrett Croslin, Devonna Sydnor, Allison Blythe and Coco Darden.

The LoJo

In our reports on the Lewisburg Leaders Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, we neglected to note that kindergarten students played a role in the ceremony. They were as flows:

From Beth Mayes’ class: Isaac Christian, Olivia Atkinson, Will Tabor, Jasmyn Perez and Garrett Lawson

From Beth Williams’ class: Lexi Coursey, Hannah Holloway, Makenley Aguirre, Wyatt Lawson, Tristin Belcher, Zayden Satawake, Maddox Taylor, Jacob Moor, Kyla Bilyeu, and Aiden Dilliha

From Karen Jenkins’ class: Caylee Pearson, Emma Boisseau, Jaqueline Casey, Jayden Fagan, Kaydance Holloway, Kayla French, Libbi Smock, Cooper Houchens, Dulton Crafton, Lee Allen Roberson, and Tristin Johnson


Jane Birdwhistell Wells, one of the organizers of that Hall of Fame program, reported the following about a couple of follow-ups from that special night:

“When I matched up the kids with the honorees, each one was matched for a reason. Two have really excited me; Fadocia Nole Hall/Ana Nash and John Stovall/Amos Parsons

“Fadocia, during fall break, drove all the way back here and got Ana and a friend and took them to the TV studio for a behind the scenes tour. Ana is so thrilled - she is a born entertainer/public speaker. They have texted each other, too!... The Friday after the event, Mr. Stovall came to school and brought Amos some military medals, a book about the military, and a thumb drive with articles he thought Amos would enjoy. Amos is the third of six boys....oldest brother, Phin, is in the military now. Amos came to my room at lunch and said ‘Can you believe he drove all the way back here to bring me things?’ He was thrilled to say the least.”

Copyright © The Logan Journal