Candidates for political party nominations finalized
By Jim Turner

Posted on January 1, 0001 12:00 AM

The final hours of filing for offices subject to the May 18 primary election brought on a number of contested races.
Eleven local races will be contested plus statewide races in both parties for U.S. Senate. Another eight contested races are guaranteed in the fall.
For those who want to run for non-partisan council seats in the three smaller incorporated cities in the county, school boards and members of conservation district boards, no primary is necessary and the filing deadline is not until Aug. 10.
Final voting for all offices will be held Tuesday, Nov. 2, the date of the general election.
Fifteen candidates filed for Russellville City Council, and a primary is necessary to reduce the field to 12.
Six candidates-- four Democrats and two Republicans-- are seeking one of the toughest jobs in government-- jailer.
Incumbent magistrates Curtis Watkins and Jo Orange are unopposed in the primaries but suddenly have opposition in the general election.
Two contested non-partisan races won't be subject to the primary. The positions of district judge and Russellville mayor each have two candidates. A third would have necessitated a primary.
Among unopposed incumbents are three completing their first term, County Clerk Scottie Harper, Coroner Mary Givens and Sixth District Magistrate Thomas Bouldin. Also guaranteed another four-year term are Sheriff Wallace Whittaker, PVA Ben Brown and Surveyor Jeff Harris.
A list of the candidates follows:

Contested races which will be subject to the May primary:
1) County Judge/Executive: Logan Chick, who is a first-term incumbent, is being challenged by Russellville police chief Barry Dill.
2) County Attorney: Democrats opposing incumbent Tom Noeare Russellville City Attorney Bob Hedges Assistant Commonwealth Attorney Joe Ross. (Noe is still expected to announce he is withdrawing from the race but has not done so yet. Candidates have until Feb. 8 to keep their names off the ballot.)
3) Jailer: Multi-term incumbent jailer Bill Jenkinshas three Democratic challengers, James 'Sonny' Duncan, James K. Penrodand Dewayne Whittaker.
4) Jailer: Donald Rust and former coroner Phil Gregoryare the Republican candidates.
4) District 1 Magistrate: Incumbent Clem 'Dickie' Carteris being opposed by Russell Poorein the Democratic primary.
5) District 2: Long-time incumbent Magistrate Harold Princefaces opposition from fellow Democrat Jack Crossley.
6) District 3: Veteran incumbent Magistrate Curtis Watkinsis being opposed by Johnny Sanford, also a Democrat.
7) District 4: Drexel W. Johnson former magistrate Ranny Adler running as Democrats.
8) District 4: Republicans Tim Norris Billy Hall. who is currently chairman of the Logan County Board of Education, are also contending for this office.
9) Russellville City Council: Incumbents Pat Walpole Bell, Jack Whipple, Jimmy Davenport Lanny McPhersonwill contend with challengers Joe Laird, former mayor Shirlee Yassney, codes enforcement officer Bill Decker, Ashley Bland, Douglas Daech, Neil Kerr, Darlene Gooch, Sandra Kinser, Dorothy Frazier, Hunt McCollum and Marvinia Benton Neblett.
10) District 3 Constable: Dorris Gregory and Randy Berryare Democrats.
11) District 4 Constable: Democrats Leonard Dye and Dwight 'Butch' Inmanare candidates.

Contested races in the November General Election:
1) Incumbent State Representative Martha Jane King a Democrat. Larry Noehas filed as a Republican, for the seat which includes Logan and Todd counties.
2) District Judge: Incumbent Sue Carol Browningand Ken Williamswill contend for the position.
3) County Attorney: Republican John Corey Morgan to face the Democratic nominee.
4) Jailer: Republican and Democratic nominees will square off.
6) District 4 Magistrate: Republican and Democratic nominees will face each other.
5) District 5 Magistrate: Incumbent Jo Orange, a Republican, is being challenged by Democrat Robert Atchley.
6) Russellville Mayor: Current councilman Doug Nashand former councilman Mark Strattonwill oppose each other.
7) Russellville Council: The 12 top vote getters in the primary will vie for the six seats.
8) District 5 Constable: Democrat Doris Gregory Republican Stephen W. Rogersare the candidates.

Candidates for U.S. Senate and U.S. Congress will be announced on the state level this weel.

Running Unopposed in either the primary or the general election::
Sheriff Wallace Whittaker
County Clerk Scottie Harper
Property Valuation Administrator Ben Brown
Sixth District Magistrate Thomas Bouldin
Coroner Mary Givens
County Surveyor Jeff Harris
District 1 Constable Sonny Vanderpool
District 2 Constable Walter McIntosh
District 5 Constable Randy Rust


1) The offices of circuit judge, commonwealth attorney and circuit clerk have terms longer than four years and are not subject to election this year.
2) April 1 is the final day for independent candidates to file a statement-of-candidacy form.
3) The filing deadline for candidates for city councils in Auburn, Lewisburg and Adairville, the mayor of Lewisburg and certain school board seats in both the city and the county is Aug. 10.
4) The final day to file a declaration of intent as a write-in candidate as Oct. 22.

The deadline to register to vote in the primary election is Monday, April 19 in the county clerk's office.

Copyright © The Logan Journal