LCHS students receive money for AP scores from statewide grant
By Amy Hallman

Posted on August 20, 2015 4:20 PM

Logan County High School is privileged to recognize 39 current students and 29 former students with a check for passing the Advanced Placement exam in English, math, and/or science.

The money is from the AdvanceKentucky grant that LCHS has been a part of for the last three years. AdvanceKentucky is a statewide math-science initiative dedicated to helping Kentucky’s students reach new heights in rigorous academic achievement. Begun in 2007, they partner with Kentucky Science and Technology Corporation (KSTC), Kentucky Department of Education and the National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI) and several other sponsors. AdvanceKentucky is one of only six programs initially selected by NMSI under a national competition to scale up this proven program.

Logan County High School has reached its goal for the last two years set by AdvanceKentucky for passing exams. The 2014-15 school is the last year for the grant; therefore this will be the last time students receive money for passing an exam.

The following students were recognized:

Paul Addison, Madison Alvis, Madison Anderson, Breanna Baptiste, Brooke Barnes, Rachel Barnett, Brittany Barton, Abby Beachy, Molly Bell, Shyanne Box, Ashley Brinkley, Paige Brown, Jacob Burton, Dylan Byrum, Amber Carroll, Brittany Carter, Ellis Chase, Austin Clark, Jesse Clark, Caleb Cline, Rachel Cunningham, Jessica Dukes, Sarah Edgar, Holly Foster, Kaitlyn Foster, Daniel Franklin, Maegann Hardison, Samuel Harper, Brilee Harris, Kayla Hazel, Maggie Hines, Korbin Holloman, Elizabeth Hughes, Andrea Jenkins, Madison Jernigan, Hunter Johnson, Meredith Johnson, Jessica Link, Jerrod Long, Miranda Marcum, Easton May, Grace McLellan, Sarah Miller, Tori Mills, Sydney Mimms, Savannah Mohr, Sierra Morris, Ryan Orndorff, Desirae Powell, Isiaha Price, Kendra Proctor, Jessalyn Robey, Savannah Rogers, Garrison Rosser, Gavin Scruggs, Mercedes Sharp, Curtis Shelton, Reagan Thomaston, Carley Utley, Elizabeth Vanzee, Kellie Warden, Aelxis Watkins, Audrey Wells, Andrew White, Luke Woodall, Ben Wright, Austin Yewell, and Kalin Yonts.

The picture only represents students still enrolled at LCHS minus a few that were not present. 

Copyright © The Logan Journal