F-S uses free throw dominance to beat Cougars
By Jim Turner

Posted on January 20, 2021 3:35 PM

After a strong start, the Logan County Cougars found themselves falling slightly behind visiting Franklin-Simpson Friday. Although they kept coming close, the Cougars never could regain the lead and lost 63-52 in their district opener.

Senior Rooster Woodard was imminently involved in that early surge. He hit a three-pointer, scored on a pass from Zack delrosal, and passed to both Landon Larson and Kamden Coursey. That accounted for 11 of the points as Coach Nathan Thompson’s team went ahead 13-5. The Cougars led 16-13 after a quarter.

Jeffery Taylor scored on an assist from Woodard to start the second quarter, but before the Cougars could score again, the Wildcats had doubled their points to 26-13.

In fact, the Wildcats went up 31-20, which was to be their biggest lead until the final score. Connor Vincent led the surge, scoring nine quick points.

Then Cougar guard Zane Batten hit two straight three-pointers to cut the margin to five. The Wildcat lead was 33-26 at the half.

The Cougars took a couple of one-point leads, but Andreyous Miller scored nine straight points for Franklin, and Coach Dee Spencer’s team led by six after three quarters.

Logan stayed in contention until Woodard fouled out by charging into Jalen Briscoe.

Even though Logan had a 28-20 rebounding margin, the game was decided at the line. The home team hit 4 of 8 foul shots. F-S was an overwhelming 26 of 30. Vincent hit all 6 of his free throws, Demarcus Hogan 6 of 7, Miller 5 of 6, and Briscoe 9 of 11.

Four Wildcats scored in double figures. Miller had 21, Briscoe 14, Hogan 13 and Vincent 11.

Woodard had 17 points. Wood, who hit 3 three-pointers, and Batten added 9 each.

Score by Quarters: 1) Logan 16-13, 2) F-S 33-26, Final Score) Franklin-Simpson 63, Logan County 52

F-S (63) Andreyous Miller 21, Jalen Briscoe 14, Demarcus Hogan 13, Connor Vincent 11, Isaac Marshall 2, Kadyn Lowe 2

LCHS (52) Anthony Woodard 17, Blake Wood 9, Zane Batten 9, Landon Larson 6, Jeffery Taylor 5, Kamden Coursey 2, Maurice Gordon 2, Jaden Sells 2, Zak Delrosal, Chance Sweeney, Nathaniel Petrie 

Copyright © The Logan Journal