January 2015 Articles


News Briefs in January 2015

By Jim Turner

Posted on January 31, 2015 6:16 PM

1/30/2015 Panthers beat South for 6th straight win An entertaining high school basketball game ended on an explosive dunk by Lee McMurry and a Panther victory as Coach Phil Todd's Russellville team won its sixth straight game Friday, knocking off South W...

Read More

Wendell Ford: An enduring winner at hands-on politics

By Al Smith

Posted on January 24, 2015 9:30 PM

The buzz across the state that Wendell Ford had died found countless Kentuckians sharing stories about him with each other as well as with inquiring reporters. The most enduring and endearing leader of an era when the Democratic party held a grassroots hold on most of the voters, he could clai...

Read More

Ryan Craig to lead Logan Chamber

Posted on January 21, 2015 10:12 PM

The Logan County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors has announced that Ryan Craig has been named executive director of the Logan County Chamber. Craig, who is the owner and publisher of the Todd County Standard in Elkton, is a graduate of Western Kentucky University with bachelor's degrees in b...

Read More

Reconstruction Revisited theme of MLK Unity Walk Friday

Posted on January 21, 2015 4:46 PM

The 29th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Unity Walk will be held this Friday morning, beginning at 8:15 at the historic Bank Street AME Church at 564 East Fifth Street in Russellville. The walk will proceed to the historic Logan County Courthouse where the program will be ...

Read More

Russellville students earn honors in academics and sports

By Kim McDaniel, Principal

Posted on January 19, 2015 11:16 PM

We have a College and Career Ready update: We have new students who have been declared college ready and added to our CCR wall.  Those students are Taelor Inscoe, Jovani Pacheco, Annie Lewis, Jackelin Astorga, Cameron Tisdale and Jada Morris.Two students have now been classified as both COLLEGE...

Read More

WKU annnounces Fall 14 honor students

Posted on January 16, 2015 10:13 PM

Western Kentucky University has announced the names of Dean’s List and President’s List students for the Fall 2014 semester. Those with a perfect 4.0 are on the President’s List and have an asterisk (*) by their names. Names are by cities, although that does not necessarily mean w...

Read More

Topper baseball to retire Murrie's jersey number

Posted on January 14, 2015 12:14 PM

Former WKU Baseball head coach Joel Murrie, who guided the Hilltoppers to 815 wins in 26 seasons (1980-2005) at the helm of the program, will have his No. 36 jersey number retired on March 8 prior to WKU’s series finale against Ohio State at Nick Denes Field. He is the father-in-law of Kather...

Read More

Whitfield meets with Citizens for Fort Campbell

By Marty Irby

Posted on January 13, 2015 5:23 PM

U.S. Rep. Ed Whitfield (KY-01) met on Capitol Hill Tuesday with delegates from the Citizens for Fort Campbell. The group met with Congressional Members from the Kentucky and Tennessee delegations to express support for Fort Campbell and to address several concerns related to the Army’s re...

Read More

LCHS grad Collins hears Vice President Biden speak

Posted on January 13, 2015 3:48 PM

“Most of you are part of the most remarkable generation in history. The 9/11 generation. You are the finest group of warriors the world has ever known. You have all that America needs to not only defend us, but to make us great.” When Vice President Joe Biden delivered this message at l...

Read More

Sen. Westerfield running for state attorney general

Posted on January 10, 2015 11:49 AM

State Senator Whitney Westerfield (R) officially announced his candidacy for Kentucky Attorney General January 9, 2015.  “My family and I have prayerfully considered this race and know Kentuckians deserve a true public servant willing to uphold the Commonwealth’s Constitution,&rdquo...

Read More

Logan Health Center & Board accept Accreditation plaque

By Kathy Thweatt

Posted on January 9, 2015 11:38 PM

On Jan. 7, Crissy Rowland from the Barren River District Health Department presented a plaque to the Logan County Board of Health and the staff at the Logan County Health Department, recognizing the district’s Accreditation. The Barren River District Health Departments is one of just 54 in th...

Read More

Logan Schools earn AdvanceED district accreditation

By Press Release

Posted on January 6, 2015 1:14 PM

For several months last year, school and district leaders, along with the Board of Education of Logan County Schools, were faithfully engaged in the process of accreditation to improve the quality of the school system and its schools. School systems seeking to gain accreditation must meet AdvancED...

Read More

Bergman to assist students needing college financial aid

By Tim Ballard

Posted on January 5, 2015 1:34 PM

John Bergman has joined the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA) as an outreach counselor helping students and families in Logan County. “I am very excited about this great new opportunity. I look forward to working with all the students, families and communities in Log...

Read More

Kelley Ashby Paul to be home for Tuesday brunch

By Jim Turner

Posted on January 2, 2015 5:47 PM

One of the women most frequently mentioned as possibly the next First Lady of the United States will be in Russellville Tuesday. She’s been here before, though, it’s safe to say. Kelley Ashby Paul is the wife of U.S. Senator Rand Paul of Bowling Green. A 1981 graduate of Russellville Hi...

Read More

Most popular 2014 stories dealt with FFA, business, sports nostalgia

By Jim Turner

Posted on January 1, 2015 11:42 PM

The most popular stories on The Logan Journal in the year 2014 dealt with FFA/ag education, business, and sports nostalgia as a whole. Readers of the online newspaper which is dedicated to coverage of Logan County, Ky. and the surrounding area are given the opportunity at the end of each story to c...

Read More

Website Search

Logan Journal Facebook

Visit Our Advertisers

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024