Good News Report for May

Posted on January 1, 0001 12:00 AM

Each month at its regular meeting, the Logan County Board of Education hears Good News reports from each of the six schools in the district. The May report follows:



·         The Family Resource Daddy Daughter Dance was a big success. There were 363 in attendance.


·         Katina Kemplin was named the new Adairville principal.


  • LCEA representative Angela McColpin presented to the board the Robotics Class from Auburn School. Brett Ross, Alyssa Jaggers, Jessie Knuckles, Colten Blick, Caleb Cline, Suzanna Higgins, Drake White, Lane Barry and Joey Dilliha presented to the board how they captured a second place finish at the WKU LEGO Robotics Competition in February.

·         Representatives from the Kentucky Derby Museum visited K-5 grade students on April 24. Students learned about the history of the Derby and the rich Kentucky heritage in the horse industry.

·         Auburn conducted the annual Student Art Fair on May 2. The Art Fair was followed by the annual Spring Band Concert.


·         Caycee Spears was named the new Chandlers principal.

·         During volunteer appreciation week, students, faculty and staff members recognized 23 men for participating in the “Watch DOGS” program throughout this past year.

·         Seventeen pints of blood were donated during the Red Cross Blood Drive at the school.

·         Eight middle school students participated in “The Little Mermaid” musical.

·         The middle school band received a Proficient rating at the KEMA Band Festival.

·         Middle school science students involved in the Eco Warriors Club planted trees around the playground behind the school.

·         Mrs. Belle Rush was selected by her peers as the Rotary Teacher of the Year.


·         Each semester, Murray State honors two students by giving them the titles of Outstanding Man and Woman. This semester, the title has been given to Kristen Tinch. Kristen is an education major and graduated from Lewisburg and LCHS.

·         Lewisburg was selected to be part of the University of Louisville research project. The project’s goal was to see what makes a school successful despite a low income population. Lewisburg was one of only 30 schools in the state with a Distinguished ranking.


  • In April, Olmstead’s first grade students skyped with First Sgt. Brian Watson. The Skype session was a culminating event in a week long unit on families. Officer Watson, son of assistant principal Bonnie Watson, currently serves in the Army and is stationed in South Korea.
  • The Olmstead Archery teams are attending the state tournament in Louisville.


  • Skyler K. Davis has earned the highest advancement award the Boy Scouts of America offers to Scouts, the Eagle Scout Award. Davis is one of approximately four percent of all Boy Scouts who attain the Eagle rank. Skyler is a senior at LCHS.
  • Congratulations to Logan Johnson and Adam Wilkins. They won the regional tennis quarterfinals and qualified for the state tournament at UK next week.
  • Tori Mills was selected as one of the finalists in the Western Kentucky Film Festival. There were over 300 submissions from Kentucky and surrounding states with over 50 entries in certain categories.
  • The LCHS Band performed at the Kentucky Music Educators Association State Concert Band Assessment Festival at the University of Louisville. The Band received unanimous Distinguished ratings from the adjudication panel. This is the highest rating possible at this event.
  • Congratulation to 9th grader Joshua Ross and 12th grader Ryan Basham. They are this month’s Attendance for Academic Success contest winners.
  • Congratulations to the Boys Track Team! They finished as Class AA Region 1 Runner-ups for the second year in a row. Several students from both the Cougar and the Lady Cougar Track Team earned the right to compete in the State Championships at the University Of Louisville. Those competing are: Hayley Mayher, Jasmine Martin, Dylan Cole, Michael Sydnor, Aaron Foster, Colton Spencer, Jared Hall, Korey Jaynes, Wesley Duncan, Sye Head, Levi Crossley, Noah Thomas, Thomas Lyne, Tyler Wood, Kaleb O’Dell, Kelly Eicher and Justin Rone.
  • High School Today magazine has an article on LCHS receiving of the ‘Spirit of Sport Award’. Click on “May 2013” under the May 2013 issue and go to pages 20-21 to read the article.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2021