Brown, Carroll lead Chandler's graduates

Posted on January 1, 0001 12:00 AM

Chandler’s School recognized 53 graduating eighth graders during a ceremony Friday, May 24 in the school gymnasium. The students entered the gymnasium to “Pomp and Circumstance,” and then Amber Carroll gave the Invocation.

Principal Caycee Spears welcomed the graduates and their families and friends. He then presented awards to the students who had obtained the highest average in the core disciplines, including Amber Carroll for Excellence in Algebra I, Language Arts, and Science; Alexis Watkins for Excellence in Mathematics and Science; Ainsley Brown for Excellence in Language Arts; and Isaiah Price for Excellence in Social Studies.

Audrea Lowe received the Excellence in Art award, while Seth Bagby was recognized for Excellence in Music. The Citizenship Awards were presented to Taylor Heath and Matthew Garner, and the Athletic Awards went to Amber Carroll and Jordan Blick. Ainsley Brown was the recipient of the Pam Thomas Academic Team Award, and McKayla Holman received an award for perfect attendance.

Spears then recognized 21 eighth graders who received the Gold Seal Presidential Award, which is given to students who had at least a 90 percent overall average and who were Proficient or Distinguished in at least one area on the annual state assessment. Seth Bagby, Ainsley Brown, Jordan Blick, Haley Carpenter, Amber Carroll, Dusty Coker, Seth Cole, Peyton Flick, Matt Garner, Taylor Heath, Jessica Holloway, Alyssa Hoots, Rachel Johnson, Audrea Lowe, Leydi Meza-Lopez, Catherine Miller, Dakota O’Dell, Isaiah Price, Kayleigh Robertson, Daniel Walker, and Alexis Waktins all accomplished this feat.

Students receiving the Silver Seal Presidential Award given for those who demonstrate educational achievement throughout the year were then recognized, including Carlyn Abney, Kaleb Boisseau, Tristen Chesnut, McKayla Holman, Kristin Johnson, Chloe Mayfield, Jacob Nations, Cameron Newkirk, ShyAnne Rutledge, Kalee Shelton, Savannah Stratton, and Kallie White.

 Spears then had the 15 Honor students stand and be recognized for maintaining at least a 94 percent average overall during their seventh and eighth grade years combined.  Seth Bagby, Jordan Blick, Ainsley Brown, Haley Carpenter, Amber Carroll, Dusty Coker, Taylor Heath, Rachel Johnson, Audrea Lowe, Catherine Miller, Dakota O’Dell Isaiah Price, Kayleigh Robertson, Daniel Walker, and Alexis Watkins were recognized for their accomplishments.

The highest overall averages were recorded by Ainsley Brown, who was recognized as the Salutatorian, and Amber Carroll, who represented the class as Valedictorian.

Logan County Board of Education member and Chandler’s Representative Phil Baker and assistant principal Joe Nell Waters, then presented diplomas to the following members of Chandler’s Class of 2013: Carlyn Abney, Seth Bagby, Parker Baxter, Taylor Danielle Bibb, Jordan Blick, Kaleb Boisseau, Ainsley Beth Brown, Haley Ann Carpenter, Amber Nicole Carroll, Jerrica Cherry, Tristen Alexandra Chesnut, Dustin Keith Coker, Leslie Seth Cole, Peyton Flick, Melinda Kay Gardner, Matt Garner, Seth Goodall, Taylor Ann Heath, Sara Elizabeth Higgins, Jessica Nicole Holloway, McKayla Brooke Holman, Alyssa Dawn Hoots, Jacquelyn Hyde, Shelbi Madison Hyde, Kristin Johnson, Rachel Brynn Johnson, Auddy Lowe, Chloe LeeAnn Mayfield, Leydi Meza-Lopez, Catherine Rebekah Miller, Jacob Nations, Cameron Newkirk, Kristan Dakota O’Dell, Eli Parks, Tabitha Harley Pendley, Dakota Poole, Dayton Alan Kavante Poole, Isaiah J. Price, Shelby Grace Evans, Kayleigh Renee Robertson, ShyAnne Lilly Rutledge, Kalee Ann Shelton, Brenden Shockley, A.J. Simmosn, C.W. Simmons, Savannah Harley Stratton, Brett Thomas, Joseph Lynn Vancleave, Daniel Lee Walker, Alexis Skye Watkins, Madelyn Elaine Wharton, Charles Colton White, and Kallie Brooke White. 

Mr. Spears then commended the class members for the leadership and desire to learn they demonstrated throughout their years at Chandler’s. He reminded them that no matter where they went in life, they would always be Chandler’s Bears.

The annual Aviles, Bush, Webb Scholarship was then awarded to graduating Logan County High School senior Taylor T. Tinsley. The scholarship, which is given to someone who plans to further his/her education in the fields of education, science, or technology, was set up to honor the memory of Debbie Bush, Frank Aviles, and Paulette Webb, three Chandler’s teachers who lost their lives in an automobile accident in September 2000.

A slide show was then presented looking back on the graduating students in their younger years. Graduate Shelby Evans then gave the Benediction.  

Members of the Chandler’s faculty and staff would like to wish the best to the graduating class of 2013 in all of their future endeavors.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2020