Laren Hines and Graycee Spears of LCHS named Governor's Scholars
By Jon Jukes

Posted on May 31, 2021 7:37 PM


Two Logan County High School juniors recently received notification of their acceptance into the Kentucky Governor’s Scholars Program for the summer of 2021. Those who received appointments into the program are: Laren Hines, and Gracee Spears.

Laren Hines is the daughter of Christopher and Shelley Hines of Auburn. At LCHS, Laren stays busy with band, yearbook, Principal Advisory Council, FBLA, and the Beta Club. When not at school, she is involved with her church’s youth group and works at WRUS radio. She has yet to decide upon a course of study, but does plan to continue her academics at the University of Louisville.

Gracee Spears is the daughter of Caycee and Bonnie Spears of Franklin. At school, she is involved in are FFA, FBLA, Principal’s Advisory Council, and the Beta Club. Away from school, Gracee is involved at her church. She is currently undecided as to her future plan of studies and where she would like to go to college. 

Established in 1983, the Governor’s Scholars Program (GSP) strives to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders as well as create models of educational excellence. Annually, approximately 1,000 rising seniors are selected for the program. Admission into the program begins at the start of a junior’s school year; however, acceptance is based on qualities the scholar has displayed throughout his or her life experiences, including academic performance, participation in extracurricular activities, and volunteerism.

Chosen recipients are rewarded with a stimulating five-week residential summer program at one of three Kentucky university campuses-- Bellarmine University in Louisville, Centre College in Danville, and Morehead State University in Morehead-- where they will study a given focus area that aligns with their personal interests. GSP participation also qualifies participants for a collection of scholarship opportunities through many of the state’s institutions of higher learning.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2024