Comer to promote farm plate at LCHS Wednesday

Posted on January 1, 0001 12:00 AM

Kentucky Agriculture Commissioner James Comer will visit Logan County on Wednesday, Jan. 30 to encourage local residents to make a voluntary $10 donation when they renew their farm license plates.

The donation will be split evenly among Kentucky 4-H, Kentucky FFA, and Kentucky Proud. Commissioner Comer is traveling to county clerks' offices throughout the state to promote the voluntary donation.

"FFA and 4-H helped make me the person I am today," said Comer, a former state president of Kentucky FFA. "They taught me valuable life lessons while enabling me to make friends from all over the Commonwealth. The voluntary $10 donations will help 4-H and FFA continue their good work for Kentucky's youth. They also will help the Kentucky Department of Agriculture maintain the Kentucky Proud farm marketing program."

Comer is scheduled to visit the ag shop at Logan County High School from 12:30-1:15 p.m.. County Clerk Scottie Harper, members of Logan County 4-H and FFA, state legislators, and others have been invited.

Kentucky FFA has about 15,000 members in nearly 140 chapters. FFA is dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education. It is open to any student age 12-21 who is enrolled in an agriculture course in a public school.

Some 205,000 youths are involved in Kentucky 4-H programs, and Kentucky ranks in the top 10 in several 4-H enrollment categories nationwide. 4-H is found in every Kentucky county and is a community of more than 6 million young people across America learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills.

Kentucky Proud is the official state program for food and farm products that are grown, raised, made, or processed in Kentucky. Some 4,000 farmers, processors, retailers, restaurants, farmers' markets, school systems, Kentucky state parks, and Kentucky Farm Bureau roadside markets are members of Kentucky Proud.

Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2019