Logan students earn special KEES scholarship
By Tim Ballard

Posted on August 24, 2016 10:38 AM

Sixteen students from Logan County, including one from Russellville High School have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Local scholars are:

Logan County High School: Paul Addison, Rachel Barnett, Kira Binkley, Ellis Chase, Jessica Dukes, Elizabeth Hughes, Madison Jernigan, Hunter Johnson, Easton May, Grace McLellan, Desirae Powell, Garrison Rosser, Seth Schweers, Elizabeth Vanzee, Audrey Wells.

Russellville High School: Donald Matthews.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit www.kheaa.com; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, KY 40602; or call 800-928-8926, ext. 6-7214.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2019